40th Anniversary: MINILS Honours Eminent Nigerians with Labour Fellowship

The 40th Anniversary/Founders’ Day celebration of the Michael Imoudu National Institute for Labour Studies (MINILS), Ilorin came to its climax last Tuesday, May 9, 2023, with the award of Fellowship of the National Labour Institute to some eminent Nigerians for their positive contributions towards the welfare of workers.

Some of the beneficiaries of the award include the Minister of Labour and Employment (State), Mr Festus Keyamo, President of the National Industrial Court, Prof. B. B. Kanyip, Director-General of National Productivity Centre, Dr. Kashim Akor, Executive Secretary of TETFUND, Arc. SunyEchono, Director-General of Nigeria Employers’ Consultative Association (NECA), Comrade Adewale Oyerinde, President of the Nigeria Labour Congress, Comrade Joe Ajaero, Vice Chancellor, Lagos State University, Prof. IbiyemiOlatunji-Bello and a host of other deserving personalities.

In his welcome address, the Director-General of the Institute, Comrade IssaAremu, mni, congratulated the awardees and appealed for more support to enhance the Institute’s role of promoting labour education and decent work for all.

Comrade Aremu further charged them to “exhibit favourable disposition towards secured and meaningful employment, respect of rights and freedom of work, social protection and security as well as social dialogue”.

He expressed gratitude to the various stakeholders of the Institute for “keeping faith and exhibiting strong confidence” in the vision of the founders of the Institute.

The event also featured an anniversary lecture on the theme: “Workers Education in Nigeria: Yesterday, Today and Tomorrow” which was delivered by Prof. DafeOtobo of the University of  Lagos.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *