As provided for in Section 2 of the enabling Act, the Institute has the following mandate:

(i) to provide workers’ education generally so as to enhance the role of trade unions in the social and economic development of the country and equip trade union officials and managers with skills normally required for collective bargaining and joint consultation in fostering the growth of better labour and management relations;

(ii) to provide opportunities for policy makers in the eld of labour and social policy in industry, in the trade unions and in government to acquire by personal experience a full understanding of the issues which confronts them in their day-to-day work;

(iii) to provide and arrange comparative study and investigation of the principles and techniques of trade unionism and thereby assist Government in evolving a virile and well-organised trade union movement capable of giving full and responsible expression to the needs of workers and the aspirations of the country;

(iv) to undertake, organise and facilitate study courses, conferences, lectures, seminars and the like with a view to improving the standard of trade union administration and infusing a sense of direction and accountability;

(v) to promote research through collaboration with Universities and Institutes concerned with industrial relations and labour matters;

(vi) to award grants, scholarships travel fellowships for research in labour studies and allied subjects;

(vii) to undertake and provide for publication of journals, research papers and books in furtherance of the aforesaid objectives


The administrative structure of the Institute has at its apex a Governing Council that is tripartite in composition i.e. with representatives from the Government, Employers and Labour with a Director-General/Chief Executive to handle the day-to-day activities of the Institute.

Core Departments
Trade Union Education Department
Labour and Management Relations Department
Academic and Distance Learning Department
Planning, Research and Curriculum Development Department
Social Protection Department
Entrepreneurship Development Department.

Support Departments
Human Resource Management/Registrar’s Office (HRM)
Finance and Accounts Department

Special Unit
Library Division

Other Units
Audit Unit
Public Relations Unit
Procurement Unit
Legal Unit
Stock Verification Unit
Marketing Unit
Information and Communication Technology (ICT) Unit